I Love These Sites

ImageImage

Thanks to eclecticbet.net/for nominations for these blog awards.  How exciting!  My purpose in blogging was to give friends and particularly our littles’ other grandparents far away in Kansas, a chance to have a taste of a day at home with the brood.  It’s nice to have a pat on the back, too, though.

Because I’m new to the blogging world, it’s sometimes difficult to figure out the how-tos with others in the community.  They are so gracious and help me along by letting me know what I need to rework or add.  Thanks to all of you…you know who you are.  I love reading your stories.  Some days I laugh and others I cry right along with you.

The Way It Works.  As a community, bloggers look out for one another and market each other.  Every blogger  has something to say or he wouldn’t bother with a blog .  We can learn a lot from each other so it makes sense to promote others’ blog pages.  Let’s share folks.  Follow these rules:

Display the Award Certificates on your blog.
Announce your win with a post. Make sure you post a link back to me as a ‘thank you’ for the nomination.
Present 15 awards to 15 deserving bloggers.
Leave them a comment to let them know after you have linked them to a post.
Post 7 interesting things about yourself.”

I am an eclectic browser and love learning something new every day.  I’ve often made the comment that I will die when I cease to learn.  Looking around in the blogging community is lots of fun.

  1. Our little family of littles went vegan a year ago, something that is hard to do for lifelong meat eaters.  I do ok with it; just have a bit of trouble with switching from vegan to weekend omnivore, which Ra-Ra insists on.  So one topic I pursued at length was vegan cooking.
  2. I’m looking for a way to cook one meal, keep my omnivore happy, and try to stay at least vegetarian for myself…I feel so much better!   I searched for meal planning blogs.  There are many and some are just wonderful.  I also found some practical advice on planning meals for more than one diet lifestyle,  While I’m considering the vegan lifestyle, I haven’t made up my mind for sure so I continue to hunt for new and different, which will cut down on prep time and time is a premium these days.  Help is plentiful out in the world of blogging.
  3. I love crafts of all kinds and happily work on tons of crochet and knitting projects as time allows.  Of course, I looked for pattern and how-to blogs.
  4. Sewing makes me smile.  The smile grows when I think about sewing for littles.  Since there are so many littles, I hoped to find new ways to make old patterns work to fit with my stash of fabric.  Check.
  5. I love music and have taught piano for many years.  I wondered if there were blogs for teachers like me and the answer is yes!
  6. I’m older now.  My brain thinks like 30 while my body thinks like every one of it’s 55 years.  So while I don’t look for a fountain of youth….let’s be reasonable….I still work hard on healthy and strong.  I searched for and found blogs on fitness for 50 somethings.  Yes!
  7. One thing, my son asked me to do was help with garden planning. While I grew up quite the farm girl, my parents did most of the planning and I followed directions.  I can do food prep and storage with the best but the planning and layout is a new area for me. Yep, I found loads of stuff to help me out.

Seriously, what more could one ask for in a community of bloggers.  If I think of something, I know I will find a source.   I once laughed at a university professor who told the class we’d see computers in every home in 20 years.  I don’t know what I’d do without mine sometimes.  It is my go to source for any and all questions.  Seriously, what would I do without Pinterest and bloggers?

Here’s my list of 15 notables.  Congrats.

  1. pamiam  iampamiam.wordpress.com/
  2. versatile-vegan  versatile-vegan.com/
  3. Hilly Miller hillymiller.wordpress.com/
  4. Memoirs to my kids  memoirstomykids.wordpress.com/
  5. Allegro non tanto  allegronontanto.wordpress.com/
  6. The GenCee thegencee.wordpress.com/
  7. Unlikely Lady of Leisure  unlikelyladyofleisure.wordpress.com/
  8. A dash of delightful  adashofdelightfulblog.wordpress.com/
  9. Go fit gals  gofitgals.wordpress.com/
  10. S is for sewing  sisforsewing.wordpress.com/
  11. MIY Collection  miycollection.co.uk/
  12. Golden Needles Designs  golden-needles.com/
  13. Siren Stitcher  sirenstitcher.wordpress.com/
  14. The Winds of Change  thewellnessalmanac.com/
  15. On Big Turtle Creek  onbigturtlecreek.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Love These Sites

  1. Bet says:

    Ooo, another list of bloggers to explore! Can’t wait. Ahh Kansas. We miss our family there. My husband is originally from KCK and moved out here to be with me instead of having me move my three children away from the only home they’ve ever known. He’s a keeper and *grabs her pompoms* GO CHIEFS!!

  2. terrigolden says:

    Thank you so much for including Golden Needles Designs on your list of notables, and for following us. I will write a post to make my own award list as soon as I figure out how to display the award and link back to yours. (Still learning…)

Leave a comment